Home » Headlines, Legislature » Akume, others lose Senate committee seats

Akume, others lose Senate committee seats

The Senate on Wednesday carried out a minor reshuffle in the leadership of its committees, with a few senators losing their chairmanship seats and others assuming new positions

The adjustment also saw the creation of a new Committee on Special Duties.

Former governor of Benue State, Senator George Akume, lost his seat as the chairman of the Senate Committee on Cooperation and Integration in Africa to Senator Joseph Akaagerger, also from Benue State.

Akume has been redeployed to the Senate Committee on Local and Foreign Debt as vice-chairman.

Senator Greg Ngaji was removed as chairman of the Committee on Science and Technology but he will now head the new committee on Special Duties, while Senator Anyim Ude, who headed the Aviation Committee, now chairs the works committee. Also, Senator Sylvester Anyanwu, who once headed the dissolved Communications Committee, is the new Chairman of the Aviation Committee.

President of the Senate, David Mark, who announced the changes in committees’ headships, also the elevation of Senator Chris Anyanwu from the vice-chairmanship of Defence and Army to the chairmanship of Science and Technology.

Senators Gbenga Oguniya and Lekan Mustapha swapped positions as they now head the committees on Internal Affairs and Police Affairs respectively.

Senator Uche Chukwumerije, who recently moved from the Progressive Peoples Alliance to the Peoples Democratic Party, is now the chairman of the Committee on Education.

He replaced Senator Bagudu Atiku, who had held the position in an acting capacity when Senator Joy Emodi left, following the annulment of her election.

Senator Patrick Osakwe, who also defected from the Accord Party to the PDP earlier in the year, was a beneficiary of Mark’s gesture, as he was named chairman of the newly constituted Communications Committee and has Kabiru Gaya as vice-chairman.

Other members of the reconstituted committee are Senators Odion Ugbesia, Atiku Bagudu, Nuhu Aliyu, Isah Braimoh, Suleiman Nazif, Naomi Akwashiki and Ayogu Eze.

Meanwhile, the Senate has adjourned sitting until January 18, 2011, but its committees on Finance and Appropriation will continue work on the 2011 budget.

Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=814

Posted by on Dec 25 2010. Filed under Headlines, Legislature. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

You’re unstable, focus on whereabouts of your imported wife – Atiku knocks Oshiomhole


2023: We pressured Obi to dump PDP — Igbo elders


Browse Elections 2023

Featuring Top 5/53 of Elections 2023

What FG should do with Nnamdi Kanu – Falana

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2273 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1258 of National Politics

Knocks as running-mate Kashim Shetima likens Bola Tinubu to late Sani Abacha

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1524 of NNP Columnists

He has two planes, where is his company? – Peter Obi asks Tinubu and supporters



UK Govt in talks with Nigeria to receive migrants rejected for asylum in the UK


December 2010
    Jan »

© 2022 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes