Home » Latest Politics, Legislature, Senate » Akume, Waziri, Ekaette Lose Senate Slots

Akume, Waziri, Ekaette Lose Senate Slots

Serving senators, including George Akume and Joseph Akaargerger (Benue State); Hosea Ehinlanwo (Ekiti State); Satty Gogwin (Plateau State); Eme Ekaette (Akwa Ibom State); Ajuji Waziri (Gombe State); and Abubakar Gada (Sokoto State).

Similarly, Gombe State Governor, Alhaji Danjuma Goje, at the weekend became the first sitting governor serving out his second term in office in May this year to pick a senatorial slot for the general election in April.

Another governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel of Ogun State, could have been the second incumbent to book a place for the April election, but he emerged from one of the two factions in that state that conducted parallel primaries. Daniel was defeated in the exercise conducted by the rival faction.

Daughter of former Presi-dent Olusegun Obasanjo, Iyabo, had emerged from a similar circumstance. In one of the parallel primaries in the state, Lola Abiola-Edewor, daughter of winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, late Moshood Abiola, also emerged winner while Iyabo was produced by the other faction.

But two former governors, Dr. Olusegun Agagu (Ondo State) and Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola (Osun State) were victorious in the National Assembly primaries of the PDP conducted in their respective states at the weekend.

Agagu emerged as the candidate of the PDP in Ondo South Senatorial district having defeated the incumbent senator representing the area, Hosea Ehinlanwo, and his former aide, Mrs. Oladunni Odu during the primary held at Okitipupa. Oyinlola  floored the incumbent Senator Simeon Oduoye by picking the PDP ticket for Osun Central Senatorial District of Osun State.

Reports of the exercise gathered by THISDAY across the states also indicate that several other senators successfully scaled the first hurdle in their bid to retain their seats at the National Assembly.

Prominent among them is the Senate President, David Mark, who with former National Chairman of the PDP, Chief Barnabas Gemade and Chief Terngu Tseagber would be facing the electorate in April for the three senatorial seats in the state.

Mark defeated Maj-General Lawrence Onoja at the primary while Gemade and Tseagber floored Akaargerger and Akume respectively.

In Osun State, Senator Iyiola Omisore had an easy ride over a retired Customs Officer, Prince Frances Fadahunsi in the exercise held at the premises of Ilesa Grammar School Ilesa.

In the neighbouring Ekiti State, Senators Ayo Arise and Sola Akinyede were successful.
The News Agency of  Nigeria (NAN) reports that Arise defeated five other contestants to clinch the party’s ticket for Ekiti North Senatorial Zone.
Those he defeated included former Commissioner for Information in the state, Chief Kayode Otitoju and a House of  Representatives member, Mr. Duro Faseyi.

Akinyede also defeated four other contenders to emerge the flag bearer for Ekiti South Senatorial zone.
In Ondo State, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Police Affairs, Gbenga Ogunniya also won the ticket for the Ondo Central Senatorial District.

Ogunniya, defeated former Nigerian Ambassador to Australia, Professor Olu Agbi in a keenly contested primaries that took place at Solton Hotel, Ijapo, Akure.

Similarly, Senator Bode Olajumoke, scaled through to stand election to retain his  Ondo North senatorial district. He defeated other aspirants including Senator Remi Okunrinboye at a primary election held in Owo.

Senator Gyang Dantong representing Plateau North Senatorial Disrict, floored former Delta State Military Administrator, Col. John Dungs, to emerge victorious.

Results from Plateau South Senatorial District showed that Mr. Victor Lar, former member of the House of Representatives defeated former senator Niagwan Cosmas and Cecilia Dapoet, to emerge winner. Incumbent Senator, John Shagaya, has defected from the PDP to the Labour Party.

Former Governor of Kaduna State, Senator Ahmed Makarfi, was returned unopposed as the PDP candidate for the election in Kaduna North Senatorial District.

In Edo State, Senators Daisy Danjuma, Yisa Braimoh and Odion Ugbesia emerged as the PDP candidates for the senatorial election in Edo State .

In Sokoto Central Senatorial District, son of late Sultan of Sokoto, Senator Ahmed Maccido got 655 votes against 485 polled by Maiakawai Lamido.

Similarly, Senator Umar Tambuwal, polled 1,165 votes to defeat his opponent, Alhaji Mahe Dange who got 13 votes.

In Sokoto East, Mr. Ibrahim Gobir clinched the ticket by polling 1,547 against incumbent Senator, Abubakar Gada, who polled 60 votes.

Senator Uche Chukwumerije scaled through in his bid to retain his Abia North Senatorial seat. His colleagues, Nkechi Nworgu and Enyinnaya Abaribe also secured the slot of the Abia Central Senatorial seat and Abia South seats.

However, all the three senators – Anthony Agbo, Emma Onwe and Anyim Ude – representing Ebonyi State at the National Assembly failed in their bid to retain their seats.

The results of the primary conducted across the state yesterday show that Agbo lost his return bid to the elder brother of the state’s First Lady, Chief Chris Nwankwo.

Onwe, who dislodged Senator Ucha at the Court of Appeal, lost his second term bid to a member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Igwe Nwangwu, while Ude’s slot has been taken by Mr. Sunny Ogbu Oji, who defeated the senator at the primaries yesterday.

Results of the exercise conducted in Bayelsa State show that Senators Heineken Lokpobiri (west); Emmanuel Paulker (central); and Hon. Clever Okisikpo grabbed the Bayelsa slots. Okisikpo defeated Senator Nimi Amange.

In Anambra State, former Senior Special Assistant to the President, Dr. Andy Uba, clinched the Anambra South senatorial seat.


David Mark
Danjuma Goje
Olusegun Agagu
Olagunsoye Oyinlola
Bode Olajumoke
Gbenga Ogunniya
Umaru Dahiru
Ahmed Maccido
Andy Uba
Helen Esuene
Gyang Danyong
Ahmed Makarfi
Ayo Arise
Sola Akinyede
Daisy Danjuma
Yissa Braimoh
Odion Ugbesia
Uche Chukwumerije
Nkechi Nworgu
Enyinnaya Abaribe
Heineken Lopobiri
Emmanuel Paulker
Chidi Offodile
Danladi Sankara
Dauda Gowon
Phillip Adidua
Isah Galaudu
Victor Lar


Ime Ekaette
Abubakar Gada
George Akume
Joseph Akaegerger
Ajuji Waziri
Satty Gogwin
Hosea Ehinlawon
Simeon Oduoye
Ireti Kingibe
Mike Okiro
Anthony Agbo
Emma Onwe
Anyim Ude
Nimi Amange
Anie Okonkwo
Mainasara Illo
Bello Dantani
John Dungs
Niagwan Cosmas
Lawrence Onoja


Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=2044

Posted by on Jan 9 2011. Filed under Latest Politics, Legislature, Senate. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

You’re unstable, focus on whereabouts of your imported wife – Atiku knocks Oshiomhole


2023: We pressured Obi to dump PDP — Igbo elders


Browse Elections 2023

Featuring Top 5/53 of Elections 2023

What FG should do with Nnamdi Kanu – Falana

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2273 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1258 of National Politics

Knocks as running-mate Kashim Shetima likens Bola Tinubu to late Sani Abacha

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1525 of NNP Columnists

He has two planes, where is his company? – Peter Obi asks Tinubu and supporters



UK Govt in talks with Nigeria to receive migrants rejected for asylum in the UK


January 2011
« Dec   Feb »

© 2022 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes