Home » Latest Politics, Ministries, Top Stories » President Swears in 14 Ministers, Returnees Retain Former Portfolios

President Swears in 14 Ministers, Returnees Retain Former Portfolios

TWELVE returnee Ministers and two new ministerial appointees, yesterday, took the oath of office and allegiance before President Goodluck Jonathan at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa Abuja, with the President directing the 12 returnees to return back to the Ministries they superintended before the dissolution of the cabinet on May 29.

The ministers include Emeka Wogu (Labour and Productivity), Bala Mohammed (Federal Capital Territory); Diezani Alison-Madueke (Petroleum Resources); and Godsday Orubebe (Niger Delta); Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu (Health); Caleb Olubolade (Minister of State, FCT); and Ruqayyatu Rufai (Education).

Others include Dr. Shamshudeen Usman (Minister of National Planning); Mohammed Bello Adoke (Attorney General and Minister of Justice); Alhaji Suleiman Yussuf (Transport), Alhaji Musa Mohammed Sada (mines and Steel) and Mr. Labaran Maku (Minister of Information and Communications).

Two new Ministers — Princess Stella Oduah-Ogiemwonyi and Hajia Zainab Maina — who also took oath of office yesterday — did not get an immediate allocation of ministries, but were directed by Jonathan to get their portfolios from the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, on Monday morning.

President Jonathan, in his brief remarks, said those who are returning are to go back to their former Ministries and start work immediately.

According to the President, “customarily, I’m supposed to give a comprehensive speech. But because we are taking the Ministers in batches, (you know we have stayed for quiet some time and the Senate is still screening), any group that is cleared, even if it is one, that person will take the oath of office so that the Ministers will go and hit the ground running. That is why we are doing it now.

“So, I will wait till the day we will take the last oath when I will comment on the cabinet and inform Nigerians the focus of our administration in the next six months or so to end this year and then till 2015.

“For those of you who have taken your oath of office, most of you are returnee ministers, it is only two of you that are new here — I have to

congratulate you because there is always a big battle to come back.

“So, for you to have gone through the Senate and Security screening, I hope you will continue to do the work Nigerians expect you to do. Those of you who are returning are to go back to your ministries and start work for the new ministers, the SGF will inform you of your posting on Monday morning.”

Among those that witnessed the ceremony were Vice President Namadi Sambo, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, Acting chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dr. Haliru Bello, Gov Murtala Nyako, head of Service, Prof. Afolabi, Chief of Staff to the President, Mike Oghiadome, Permanent Secretaries, top government officials and families of the Ministers.


Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=10280

Posted by on Jul 2 2011. Filed under Latest Politics, Ministries, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Farmers murder: NAF kills insurgents in Sambisa Forest —Official


DJ Switch replies Lai Mohammed


Police finger IPOB, arrest three as explosion rocks Wike father’s church

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2029 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1042 of National Politics

Assets declaration: Magu shuns CCB’s summons

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1435 of NNP Columnists

Obasanjo congratulates Biden, says ‘it’s a victory of good over evil’




South East govs, Ohaneze, Wike meet over IPOB


July 2011
« Jun   Aug »

© 2020 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes