Home » Bayelsa, Party Politics, Peoples' Democratic Party (PDP), State News » Reactions trail Alaibe’s non-clearance by PDP

Reactions trail Alaibe’s non-clearance by PDP

Reactions have continued to trail the non-clearance of Mr Ndutimi Alaibe by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to contest the governorship primaries slated for November 19, 2011, with a pro-Democracy group Internal Democracy Advocacy Network (IDAN) commending the Brig-General Idi Adamu screening committee for sticking by the constitution of the party.

Out of the 11 aspirants invited for screening at the PDP zonal headquarters in Port Harcourt, the panel only cleared nine of the aspirants while two were not cleared. Those cleared include the incumbent, Governor Timipre Sylva, House of Representatives members, Mr Seriake Henry Dickson, Mr Ben Murray Bruce, Chief Francis Amaebi Doukpola, Mr. Christopher Enai, Mr Boloubo Orufa, Mr Austin Ogionwo Febo, Mr Michael Kalango, and Ekiyegha Fred Korobido.

Those not cleared according to the list obtained from the screening committee are the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Dr Boladei Godknows Igali who was absent from the committee as he had accompanied President Goodluck Jonathan to the Common Wealth Heads of States Meeting in Australia and Alaibe who was refused clearance because he could not produce a letter of waiver from the National Working Committee.

IDAN in a statement by Alfred Watson said the action of the screening committee was commendable as it has showed clear signs to politicians involved in rampant movement from one political party to the other in search of power.
According to him, the Idi Adamu-led committee should be saluted for upholding the constitution of the party and refusing to be manipulated by some people who wanted them to subvert the rules. It urged PDP members in the state to remain calm and pick from all the aspirants that have shown loyalty to the party, stressing that politicians should refrain from dragging the name of the President into the race.

The statement reads in part: “The non-recognition of the Former aide to President on Niger Delta, Timi Alaibe, is a clear indication that the party is in touch with the people. The Committee was also outstanding in the manner it handled the “Letter” written to it by the Permanent Secretary of the Water Resources Ministry and former nation’s Ambassador to Sweden, Dr. Bolade Igali.

Men of such standing have not shown evidence of resignation from the job of Government and asked to be given special treatment due to his trip with Mr. President to Australia.Those who stood with the party, during trying period and never deserted included the Governor, Chief Timipre Sylva, Chief Doukpola Francis Amaebi; Hon Dickson Seriake; Hon. Orufa Jusline Boloubo; Hon Enai Christopher Fullpower; Ekiyegha Fred Korobido; Kalando Michael Ypupele; Murray Ben Bruce and Austin Febo.

It is a clear message that time when people move in and out of the Party at will are over.”
“Timi Alaibe, as expressed by the Labour Party members in Bayelsa State with the increased pasting of his campaign posters around the Yenagoa City, should go back to his failed party and leave the party for loyalists, democrats and dedicated politicians. Let him appeal, he will surely fail as the PDP in his home community, ward and state have denied him waiver. The people have also denied him waiver. The National Secretariat of the PDP and President Goodluck Jonathan should know better.”


Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=14327

Posted by on Oct 30 2011. Filed under Bayelsa, Party Politics, Peoples' Democratic Party (PDP), State News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Okonjo-Iweala’s Brother, Ogwashi-Uku Monarch’s Convoy Attacked


Ohanaeze Ndigbo demands apology, restitution from Bulkachuwa over alleged attack on Igbo


OPC to Fani Kayode: You are just a jobber lacking integrity

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2135 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1146 of National Politics

All eyes on INEC as Appeal Court upholds Oye, Soludo

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1471 of NNP Columnists

Don’t vote for PDP, APC again; they have bad antecedents, former INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, warns Nigerians




Pastor Oyedepo sacks 40 plus pastors for failing to bring in sufficient offerings and tithe


October 2011
« Sep   Nov »

© 2021 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes