Home » Niger, State News » Niger Assembly sacks Speaker

Niger Assembly sacks Speaker

Members of the Niger State House of Assembly on Tuesday impeached the Speaker, Isah Kawu, just a week after he was dramatically elected by his colleagues to replace Mohammed Gammunu.

Kawu was ousted based on a vote of no confidence supported by 21 members while three opposed it.
He was removed through a motion moved by Andrew Doma representing Shiroro and supported by Abass Wazire representing Magama.
Kawu has been replaced by Adamu Usman, who was immediately sworn in.

It will be recalled that Gammunu was impeached last Tuesday for incompetence after a motion was moved by Bashir Loko Goma, representing Wushishi under matters of urgent public importance.

It will also be recalled that Gammunu had on Monday reportedly dragged Kawu and 19 others before a Minna High Court, seeking to restrain the new speaker from performing the duties of the office pending the determination of the case.

Meanwhile, before Tuesday’s impeachment, civil servants in the state had marched on the assembly complex, demanding Kawu’s removal.


Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=21271

Posted by on May 22 2012. Filed under Niger, State News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Naira begins new week on negative note


Biafra Referendum: EU confirms Ekpa’s petition, sends invitation


Browse Elections 2023

Featuring Top 5/118 of Elections 2023

Tinubu asked to release photos taken with investors in France

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2322 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1293 of National Politics

‘I must be President of Nigeria’, someday – Peter Obi insists

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1542 of NNP Columnists

Thank you for tolerating me – Buhari begs Nigerians for forgiveness



Atiku Abubakar withdraws court application for electoral materials sorting


May 2012
« Apr   Jun »

© 2023 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes