Home » Elections, Elections 2019, Latest Politics, National Politics, Top Stories » Buhari beats Atiku in Adamawa

Buhari beats Atiku in Adamawa

By Yakubu Uba/Yola

The Presidential Candidate of Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, failed to hold his polling unit in Yola, Adamawa state on Saturday as he lost it to President Muhammadu Buhari.

The official count of ballots at Ajiya unit 02 in Gwadabawa Ward of Yola North Local Government Area gave Atiku 167 votes, while Buhari got 186 votes, out of the 365 votes cast at the centre.

The Assistant Presiding Officer, Mr Abdulrasheed Mohammed, who announced the results, said a total of 365 votes were cast for the presidential election at the unit.

Similarly, the Senatorial candidate and House of Representatives candidates of the APC defeated their PDP counterparts at the unit.

Aishatu Dahiru the senatorial candidate of APC, got 185 votes to defeat Mohammed Chubado of PDP who got 120 votes, while APC House of Representative candidate scored 145 votes to defeat his PDP counterpart who got 121 votes.

At Lamido’s Palace polling unit 010, Atiku also lost to Buhari.

He polled 138 votes, while Buhari got 228 votes, according to INEC presiding officer Idris Yunusa.

At Voting Point 04 of Polling Unit 11, in Bako ward in Yola, where Mr Nuhu Ribadu, a former chairman of EFCC voted, APC polled 142 ahead of PDP’s 79 votes. APC scored 549 in the unit, while PDP got 304.

Bako ward is not far from Ajiya ward, the polling area of the PDP’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

In unit 001, APC got 122 ahead of PDP’s 60; in unit 002 the ruling party polled 298 to defeat PDP which got 68.

In unit 003, PDP polled 143 behind APC’s 319. APC also scored 278 in unit 004 to defeat PDP which got 144.

At unit 005, APC scored 196 while PDP polled 53. Unit 006 was also cleared by APC with 308 to PDP’s 54 votes. At unit 007 Mr Buhari equally defeated Mr Abubakar with 263 votes against PDP’s 85.

The results are not surprising to political observers. President Buhari won Adamawa in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015. In 2007, Atiku was on the ballot for ACN, and he still lost the state to Buhari.


Short URL: http://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=52086

Posted by on Feb 23 2019. Filed under Elections, Elections 2019, Latest Politics, National Politics, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Farmers murder: NAF kills insurgents in Sambisa Forest —Official


DJ Switch replies Lai Mohammed


Police finger IPOB, arrest three as explosion rocks Wike father’s church

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2029 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1043 of National Politics

Assets declaration: Magu shuns CCB’s summons

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1435 of NNP Columnists

Obasanjo congratulates Biden, says ‘it’s a victory of good over evil’




South East govs, Ohaneze, Wike meet over IPOB


February 2019
« Jan   Mar »

© 2020 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes