Home » CPC (Congress 4 Progressive Change), Kano, National Politics, Party Politics, State News » Mohammed Abacha Picks Kano’s CPC Gov. Ticket

Mohammed Abacha Picks Kano’s CPC Gov. Ticket

Racing to beat the deadline given to political parties by  Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) the national headquarters of Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) yesterday made last minute effort to settle the controversy rocking the party’s gubernatorial primaries in Kano State with a voting exercise, which saw Mohammed Abacha, son of late Head of State, General Sani Abacha, leading with 144, 066 votes.
 According to Professor Mohammed Dahiru Suleiman, the chairman of the Committee charged with the conduct of the gubernatorial primary, Abacha scored 144,066, to defeat other three contestants.
Briefing journalists on the outcome of the party `s gubernatorial primary, in Kano, he said  Ja`faru Isa, former military administrator of Kaduna State, came second with 78,671 votes.
He also disclosed that, Sani Hanga, immediate past national chairman of the party, secured 45,618 votes, Auwalu Anwar, got 30,410, while, Magaji Abdullahi, former deputy-governor polled 5,795.
Suleiman explained that the results were those received from 21 out the 44 Local Government Areas, in the state, which show that Mohammed Abacha, led in the contest.
He however disclosed that, the result of the 23 local government areas, were not reflected in the released result, as it was characterised by some irregularities.
Suleiman pointed out that as a result of this development, the Committee had resolved to transfer the ratification and official announcement of the final result to the national headquarters of the party, in Abuja.
“On behalf of myself and the other members of the Committee set up by the national leadership of our party, I will like to inform you (gentlemen of the press) that the result in our possession so far, indicates that Mohammed Abacha scored 144,066.
“Jar`faru Isa 78,671, votes; Sani Hanga, 45,618; Anwalu Anwar, 30,410; and Magaji Abdullahi 5,795. This result was what was collated from 21 out of the 44 Local Government Areas of the state.
“In the course of collation of the votes, we noted that the result brought from the remaining 23 Local Government Areas, were characterised by some hitches and irregularities, based on this we have resolved to refer the announcement of the final to national headquarters in Abuja” he said.


Short URL: https://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=2415

Posted by on Jan 16 2011. Filed under CPC (Congress 4 Progressive Change), Kano, National Politics, Party Politics, State News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Supreme Court affirms Akpabio as APC’s senatorial candidate


Army redeploys Major Generals, GOCs [Full List]


Browse Elections 2023

Featuring Top 5/69 of Elections 2023

2023: Atiku reveals why he took time off to Dubai amid campaigns

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 3/2286 of Africa & World Politics

Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1269 of National Politics

What FG should do with Nnamdi Kanu – Falana

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1528 of NNP Columnists

Knocks as running-mate Kashim Shetima likens Bola Tinubu to late Sani Abacha



He has two planes, where is his company? – Peter Obi asks Tinubu and supporters


January 2011
« Dec   Feb »

© 2023 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes