Home » Anambra, Elections, Elections 2019, Kwara, Latest Politics, Legislature, National Politics, Senate, State News, Top Stories » Senate President, Saraki, Akpabio lose senate reelection

Senate President, Saraki, Akpabio lose senate reelection

The Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, on Sunday became one of the major casualties of the 2019 general elections as he lost his bid to return to the Senate. Apart from Saraki, the other two senatorial candidates of his party, the Peoples Democratic Party, lost to the All Progressives Congress.

Saraki lost to the Kwara Central Senatorial District candidate of the APC, Dr Ibrahim Oloriegbe, in what election observers described as a major upset.

Oloriegbe polled 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate President who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local government areas of the Kwara Central Senatorial District.

The result of the election was announced by the Senatorial District Returning Officer, Prof. Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin.

In Asa Local Government Area, Oloriegbe polled 15, 932 votes to defeat Saraki who scored 11, 252 votes.

The APC candidate also got 30, 014 votes in Ilorin East Local Government Area to 14, 654 polled by his PDP rival.

In Ilorin West, which is considered Saraki’s stronghold, Oloriegbe polled 51, 531 votes to defeat the Senate President with 30, 075 votes.

The situation was the same in Ilorin South where the APC senatorial candidate floored the Senate President with 26, 331 votes as against 13, 031 votes garnered by Saraki.

The APC’s candidates won the House of Representatives seats in Asa/Ilorin West and Ilorin South/Ilorin East Federal Constituencies.

In the presidential election, the APC maintained the lead in 14 out of the 15 local government areas already announced.

NAN reports that the PDP only led in Oke Ero Local Government with 6,242 votes to 6,079 votes polled by APC.

Akpabio Loses Senatorial Seat

By Okon Bassey in Uyo and Yekini Jimoh in Lokoja

The immediate past Senate Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio was on Saturday defeated during the National Assembly elections.

This is as the senatorial candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Dino Melaye, representing Kogi West senatorial district at the National Assembly was leading the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Smart Adeyemi according to the result from INEC office in Lokoja.

The PDP senatorial candidate and former Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Christopher Ekpenyong reportedly won in all the eight out of 10 local government areas released by INEC.

Only the result of the country home of Senator Akpabio, Essien Udim LGA and that of the neigbouring Ikot Ekpene LGA were still pending.

Also, the candidates of the PDP that contested the House of Representative elections won in all the eight LGA results released.

In the senatorial election in Etim Ekpo LGA, PDP – 6,603 votes, APC – 2,671 votes; in Abak LGA, PDP – 10,926 and APC – 9,787; Ika LGA, PDP – 9,257 and APC – 4,152.

In Ukanafun LGA, PDP – 25,952 and APC – 14,452; in Oruk Anam  LGA, PDP – 25,123 and APC – 10,534

PDP polled 13,184 votes, while APC polled 6,229 votes in Obot Akara LGA

PDP polled 7,951 while APC polled 3,083 in Okono LGA; in Ini LGA, APC polled 5,897 votes, while PDP polled 13, 302 votes.

Meanwhile, the senatorial candidate of PDP, Senator Dino Melaye, representing Kogi West senatorial district at the National Assembly was leading the candidate of APC, Senator Smart Adeyemi.

Out of seven local government councils, Melaye won in six local government councils.   Both of them came from Ijumu LGA.

While Adeyemi is from Iyara in Ijumu, Melaye is from Ayetoro-Gbede  also in Ijumu.

In Kabba-Bunu LGA, Adeyemi polled 8,971 votes while Melaye polled 14,756.  PDP scored 11,024 while APC scored 15, 639 in Kogi LGA. In Ijumu, PDP scored  11749,  while APC 8517.  In Lokoja LGA, PDP scored 24,576 while APC 18,800.

In Yagba West, PDP polled 8,942, while APC scored  6,799; in Mopa, PDP 5,112, while APC scored 3,668 and in Yagba East, PDP scored 8,638, while APC 5,077.

While Adeyemi polled a total of 67, 471 votes, Senator Melaye scored total votes of 84, 797.


Related Posts

Website Pin Facebook Twitter Myspace Friendfeed Technorati del.icio.us Digg Google StumbleUpon Premium Responsive

Short URL: https://newnigerianpolitics.com/?p=52100

Posted by on Feb 25 2019. Filed under Anambra, Elections, Elections 2019, Kwara, Latest Politics, Legislature, National Politics, Senate, State News, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply


Browse National Politics

Featuring Top 5/1343 of National Politics


Read more

Browse Today’s Politics

Featuring Top 5/37 of Today's Politics

Browse NNP Columnists

Featuring Top 10/1558 of NNP Columnists

Browse Africa & World Politics

Featuring Top 5/2374 of Africa & World Politics


Read more






May 2024

© 2024 New Nigerian Politics. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes